Assists in filing marriage applications, issuing licenses, performing marriage ceremonies,
searching and providing copies of Marriage Records.
Marriage licenses are issued to opposite and same sex couples. The couple
must apply in person with both the prospective parties present,
the marriage license form may be completed in advance using our eMarriage License Application.
Applicants must be 18 years of age or older and provide the office with
identification, such as a drivers license containing a photograph or birth certificate. A blood
test is no longer required. If either applicant has been divorced, you must provide the Clerk
with the date the divorce was finalized.
In special circumstances applicants serving in the military who are unable to apply in person
may contact the office of the Clerk of Circuit Court to make the appropriate arrangements.
** NOTICE ** ALL APPLICANTS MUST BE IN THE OFFICE PRIOR TO 4PM FOR COMPLETION OF PAPERWORK.
Effective January 1, 1999, if a couple has not completed a premarital preparation
course from a
Qualified Course Provider
registered with the Clerk of the Circuit Court,
Volusia County, Florida, the effective date of the marriage license will be delayed three (3) days
from the date of issuance. Those couples who have completed a course will have the fee reduced
by $32.50 and will have no waiting period to get married. Exceptions apply to non-Florida residents.
In 1998 the Marriage Preparation and Preservation Act (98-402, Laws of Florida) provided that
a Family Law Handbook be distributed to each marriage license applicant prior to the issuance of the license.
Each applicant must state in writing that he or she has obtained and read, or otherwise accessed,
the information contained in the handbook. This information is
The handbook is available at all Marriage License Departments and can be
read prior to completing the license application.
Couples may save time by
completing the Marriage License Application online.
Marriage License Fees
Please refer to the bottom of this page for current Marriage License fees. Payment may be by:
Cash; Personal Checks; or Visa MasterCard or Discover Credit Cards & Debit Cards with the Visa MasterCard logo.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Where can I apply for a marriage license in person?
Marriage license applications are accepted at the Volusia County Courthouse, Room C119, DeLand and
Daytona Beach Courthouse Annex, Room 100.
Q: How long is the license valid?
The license is valid for 60 days and the marriage may take place anywhere in the State of Florida.
The marriage license form must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording within ten
days after the marriage is performed. A certified copy will be provided.
Q: Can the Clerk perform the ceremony?
Upon request the Clerk, or a Deputy Clerk, is authorized to perform your wedding ceremony during
regular office hours from 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., Monday through Friday. Please arrive before 4:00 PM.
Q: May I apply if I am under the age of 18?
If either of the parties is under the age of 18, the Clerk's Office is authorized to
issue a marriage license if one of the following conditions is met:
If the prospective party is 16-17 years of age and has a written consent from his or her
parents or guardian
If the minor applicant has been married previously, the Clerk's office will issue a
marriage license provided the applicants furnish documentation evidencing the prior marriage
A County Judge is authorized to issue a marriage license to any applicant under the age of 18,
if one of the following conditions are met:
Both applicants swear under oath that they are the parents of a child
The female applicant is pregnant and this fact is verified by a licensed physician’s
written statement and both parties swear under oath that they are the expectant parents of a child
The Clerks Office will schedule a hearing, if necessary, with a County Court Judge who
will then decide to issue or deny the license based upon the circumstances of the
application and the accompanying documentation. A fee of $93.50 is required. If the
judge denies the request, $93.50 is refundable.
Q: How do I get a copy of my license?
To obtain a simple photo copy of your marriage license at no charge you may print from "Public Records" then "Marriage Document Inquiry"
(fee is $1.00 per page at the office). If you would like a certified copy, the fee is $1.00 per page plus $2.00 certification fee. You may come into the
Deland Courthouse, the New Smyrna Beach Courthouse Annex or the Daytona Beach Courthouse Annex listed on our home page with the names of both
parties and the fee. If you are unable to come into our office, you may either send in a
written request with the names of both of the parties, the date of the marriage, the fee for each certified copy and a self addressed stamped envelope to
the address below Attn: Marriage Department or you may order online by following the "Links" to MyFloridaCounty.com (for records back to 4/4/1988 only).
Marriage records date back to 1855 in Volusia County. For our search of the older records, we will need the names of the bride and groom, and the year
that the marriage took place. Search fee is $2.00 per name per year and the certified copy is $3.00.
Fees and Fines
| Application (includes preparation, administering oath, recording, and one certified copy)
| Application (includes preparation, administering oath, recording, and one certified copy), if premarital course taken
| Additional certified copies, per copy
| Performing wedding ceremony